Old Mission Farm House
The original house was built by Norwegian homesteaders on East Bay in 1881. During the remodeling the foundation had to be repaired, and we discovered a floor joist system of foot-thick logs that were dovetailed together. That’s probably why it’s still standing today. Architect Ken Richmond redesigned this small house to be more open and airy, yet retain its original architectural integrity. A dining area was added to the kitchen to increase space and also increase natural light. After opening up a central wall and removing some closet space, a unique field stone fireplace could be added, a duplicate of one found in a cottage on Lake Gogebic in the western Upper Peninsula. Through two sets of French doors in the living room, the original front porch is now enclosed with windows, and football games and cigars can mix together while separating fans from civilized folk. Adding dormers in key areas upstairs turned unusable attic space into two more bedrooms and a full bath. The homesteaders would love it.